There is none….

Well it feels like forever since I even opened my laptop.

macbook colored keyboard

Photo by O M K A R on Pexels.com

Because it has been a long 6 weeks!  I visited Oxford for 2 and stayed for 5 and am only now addressing some sense of normality back into my days by attempting to find some more work and cagily eyeing up the remnants of NaNoWriMo that I have still not attempted to edit.  I still have a whole book to read – such luxury  – and review for IBR now overdue. I have not written one theatre review because I cancelled the tickets as I did not return here to attend. As its only island reviews I cannot include any time in Oxford ….shame! My own review page is eagerly awaiting my aspersions on todays cinema visit – most bizarre film I have sat through in an age.

adult art beautiful beauty

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

I then realise about an hour ago that the interview panel I need to ‘perform’ for in less than a day has not just asked for 25 to 30 min of a lesson on British Literature but now I have finally opened the Word Doc discover it is to be on Anglo-Saxon English! No mean feat then – scurries back to long harboured notes from Uni and thanks the lord – or AS King – that she suffered through the first year of Oxford learning Old English by rote and actually rather liked a bit of Beowulf by the end! Who wouldn’t after painful hours spent translating it word for word from that crazy germanic danish mix of gerunds and inflexions Anglo-Saxon brewed together into some wierdly romantic sounding cacophony !

art carving close up crown

Photo by Mikes Photos on Pexels.com

So my yes I can do that – fly by the seat of my deep literature knowledge – response sheds its flippant skin and has now dissolved into a kind of liquid panic! At 3.30a.m ….less than a day away from said important interview…

Ever feel like the work is piling up here, guys?

batch books document education

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

My guilt  – such as it was – at not completing any of the prompts or assignments proffered by the lovely Emily at writing group last month – evaporates swiftly. I even feel guilty that I attended tonight but at least it loosened my pen at last after 5 weeks of sterility. More guilt associates this post. Do I even have TIME to blog !!!

Just when I had started to resume a suspiciously ‘normal’ sleep pattern – if you accept 2am as early and rising at 11 acceptable! At least it was solid sleep ! Helped by more attention to a healthier diet and finally getting back on the exercise loop. And no, these are not half hearted resolutions. Just sick of feeling lousy  and looking worse.

So, back to the issues in question. As I try to list and organise exactly WHEN I will achieve these promised articles I realise the longer I court insomnia the less chance I have of fitting it all in. Three lessons to Dubai via Skype and another social engagement leave only the morning. Yet it IS now the morning. So shall I start now? If I do when does any actual SLEEP figure in and do I really want to shove ASaxon in at midnight tomorrow night then wake to teach it like some poor recent teaching graduate who spent half the night swotting for his first ever ‘real’ lesson and suddenly realises through his bleary-eyed doom that he has enough material for not one but FIVE lessons and none of it even makes any damn sense anymore! And timings? lesson plans? forget it . Aim? Objectives? Outcomes? Pffffft!! Do not even start me on Reflection plans!

Oh dear. In the words of Eeyore ( yes I have watched the new Christopher Robin movie over Yuletide – such fun) – it really doesn’t matter… welcome to my life…..but said with less of the iconic drawl and more with a screeching, heightening sense of damic or panoom – doom and panic combined.

black and white photo of clocks

Photo by Andrey Grushnikov on Pexels.com

 

Oh hell – its now 4am –  I think I will just sleep on it !

It will all seem better in the ‘morning’ – if I even get up in that section of the day ….

In the words of the Caulk heads – I will do it somewhen!

2 thoughts on “There is none….

  1. Pingback: There is none…. | ISLE MY ISLE….♡♡♡

Leave a comment